Only 2 black league managers in England

This is where you can tell us all your general football views either domestic or international.

Moderators: Big Jono, Moderators

Only 2 black league managers in England

Postby Omari » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:36 am

I am a 6th form student and I am currently doing a project called Why are there so few black managers in English league football? As currently 25% of league players are black or minority ethnic (BME) but only 2 out of the 92 league managers are BME. (Chris Powell and Chris Hughton). I am interested in what fellow football fans think about this issue. Why do you think there are so few black managers? Whether you think there is actually an issue? Whether you think there should be a solution and any opinions expressed in this thread may be used anonymously in my project. Thank You :D
Omari
Grass Roots
Grass Roots

Postby specnur » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:49 pm

Personally i don;t really have a clue. If you look at the FACT of how long it took Hughton to get hired after newcastle fired him ,even when almost every person in football publicly said it was one of the most shocking firings in football, it makes you wonder.